Finalists for the 14th FDs’ Excellence Awards revealed

Superstar Finance Directors including Graeme Weir of Virgin Wine Online, Haseen Naheem of Bighams and Richard Barley of pub group New World Trading Company, have all been shortlisted for the 14th FDs’ Excellence Awards.

A record number of FDs have vied to become finalists in categories including Private Equity-Backed FD of the Year, International FD of the Year and Young Finance Professional. The finalists will be judged by a panel of highly experienced finance directors, including former winners of the FDs’ Excellence Awards such as Edward Knighton of Yo Sushi! And Brian McArthur-Muscroft of FTSE 250 business Paysafe.

The Awards will also recognise those service providers to the finance function that have exceeded expectations over the past year. Our service provider winners have been decided by those that matter most – the clients. Every year over 1,800 finance directors complete the FDs’ Satisfaction Survey, rating those that serve them by a whole range of metrics including value-for-money and personal service.

The winners of all categories will be revealed at the FDs’ Excellence Awards lunch taking place on May 1, as part of FD Surgery London, and will be hosted by former Superdry CFO Chas Howes. FD Surgery is the only event series for entrepreneurial finance directors and will feature a packed day of interactive debate and learning. If you would like to attend simply purchase your ticket for The FD Surgery London 2018.

The finalists in full . . .

Finance Director Awards

Private Company FD of the Year – SME businesses

  • Anthea Morri, Better2Know
  • Peter McNay, BubbleBum UK
  • Susan Charles, Castle Scaffolding
  • David Menon, Informed Solutions
  • Ateeb Mehmood, VAIONI GROUP

Private Company FD of the Year – Larger businesses

  • Mike Reid, Balhousie Care Group
  • Haseen Naheem, Bighams
  • Spencer Kerry, Crawford Healthcare
  • Richard Barley, The New World Trading co
  • Thomas Baumgartner, voestalpine Metsec

Private equity-backed FD of the Year, sponsored by Creditsquare

  • James Sherrington, Drake & Morgan
  • Jim Campbell, Ink
  • Graeme Weir, Virgin Wine Online

International FD of the Year, sponsored by Worldfirst

  • James McComasky, Brabant Alucast International
  • Robert Eastoe, Keen and Toms Holdings
  • Jeremy Hoare, Oakland International

Young Finance Professional of the Year

  • Ashley Taylor, Burgess Furniture
  • Tom Parkinson, SteamaCo
  • Alex Clark, LOVESPACE

Service Provider Awards

Accountancy Firm of the Year: SME Clients

  • Buzzacott
  • Crowe Clark Whitehill
  • Haines Watts
  • KPMG
  • Mazars
  • MHA MacIntyre Hudson

Accountancy Firm of the Year: Larger Clients

  • BDO
  • Deloitte
  • Grant Thornton
  • KPMG
  • PricewaterhouseCoopers
  • RSM

Business Bank of the Year

  • Barclays
  • HSBC
  • Lloyds Banking Group
  • NatWest
  • Santander

Financial Software Vendor of the Year

  • Intuit Quickbooks
  • Iris
  • Microsoft Dynamics
  • Sage
  • SAP
  • Xero

Pension Firm of the Year

  • Hargreaves
  • Nest
  • Now Pensions
  • People Pensions
  • Royal London
  • Scottish Widows
  • Standard Life

Recent articles